Toad Lite Fruit Cup

On Weightwatchers, fruit is ZERO points. A nice sweet but healthy snack alternative and at zero points, beats out on even the healthier snacks out there that are typically around 2 points.

Now, I am not usually a big fruit eater. I do eat bananas regularly and have started to buy bags of apples to snack on but typically, other fresh fruit doesn’t get eaten before it all goes bad.

But as a way to eat better, I have started to choose the large fruit cup at Chick-fil-A instead of the oh-so-delicious waffle fries. For the record, the 8 piece chicken nuggets is 7 points + large fruit cup for 0 points + unsweetened ice tea for 0 points gives you a decent lunch for only 7 points. Just skip the dipping sauce for your nuggets or use very very little and add another point to the total.

Anyway, back to the fruit cup… I was impressed by the fact that Chick-fil-A DOES NOT FILL THEIRS WITH CHEAP NASTY MELONS! (Can you tell I can’t stand melon of ANY kind?). Instead, they use fresh mandarin orange slices, strawberries, red and green apple pieces and red grapes. All fruit I actually like! And all so yummy I actually look forward to the fruit cup as much as I look forward to the chicken nuggets.

Toad Lite Fruit Cup

So then I started to  think about it and said, “Hey, I can make this at home!” so this week I bought some fresh fruit, dug through our tupperware and found some smallish-medium containers. Kenny chopped up the apples for me (he’s better with the knives, I am not allowed near them) and mixed everything up in a bowl for me. Above is what I shall call my “Toad Lite Fruit Cup”… a lovely medley of red apples, blackberries, blueberries & mandarin orange slices – all fresh except for the mandarin orange that was canned in light syrup. We added a dash of lemon juice to keep the apples from browning and it was as yummy as the Chick-fil-A fruit cups!

I plan to try to keep making these with other types of berries (raspberries & strawberries) as well as grapes or maybe even diced pineapples. I actually had grapes but didn’t have room to add them into the mix.

For reference, here is my “recipe”:

  • 3 small red apples, diced
  • TWO 11 oz cans of mandarin orange segments in light syrup (drain syrup before adding to mix)
  • 6 oz. blueberries
  • 6 oz. blackberries
  • lemon juice

Mix all the fruit in a bowl. Add a few dashes of lemon juice once mixed. Store in 1 cup food storage containers and refrigerate. Yields EIGHT 1 cup portions. ENJOY as an afternoon snack or whenever you start to get a little hungry!

Feel free to substitute fruit as you’d like!

One response

  1. Ooh, great idea. And something to look forward to. I think it helps to make healthy snacks you actually want to eat.

Leave a Reply

