Seared Scallops Appetizer

I ate at a local eatery, CRISP, last week and enjoyed their Houston Restaurant Weeks menu. The appetizer I had, simply labeled “Seared Scallops”, was a wonderful combination of flavors I had not had before. They had the ingredients listed on the menu so I tried to recreate it for our weekly dinner with friends. They gave it a resounding vote of approval so I thought I’d share my version of this seared scallops appetizer.

By the way, Kenny cooked us Asian Glazed Five Spice Pork Tenderloin and wow! That recipe will be used again. It came out perfectly on the first try. So much flavor!

On to the appetizer…

Ingredients

  • fresh scallops (I served 3 per person)
  • onion sprouts (you can use other sprouts but make sure they are paleo, no legumes)
  • cucumber, diced
  • fresh basil (mine came from my garden)
  • fresh mint (also from my garden)
  • raw honey

Instructions

  1. Finely chop the basil and mint together (3 parts basil to 1 part mint).
  2. Lightly sear the scallops using a about a tbsp of olive oil.
  3. Drizzle honey onto a small plate, then sprinkle about a 1/2 to 1 tbsp of the chopped basil+mint mix onto the honey (depending on how many scallops you serve).
  4. Place the scallops on the honey sprinkled with basil & mint.
  5. Place a generous amount of sprouts on top of the scallops.
  6. Place the diced cucumbers on top of the sprouts.
  7. Be sure to get all the flavors in each bite!

image

This picture is courtesy of EJ

image

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

