Checking In

Well, so far so good. I am down *almost* 11 lbs (10.8 to be exact) and I’ve stayed pretty true to the paleo diet. I know we can now have honey but I am working on not using it too much (limiting it to baked goods and a tbsp or so in recipes every now & then) and same with dairy (no yogurt, no milk, limited cheese). I have had a couple of sugar-free apple ciders but really can’t recall outright and deliberately cheating on the diet (do semi-sweet chocolate morsels instead of dark chocolate ones in some paleo muffins count?). A few things may have snuck in inadvertently due to eating out but I’m trying!

I hardly lost any weight this past week (0.2 lbs) but it wasn’t a gain either. I’ve adjusted my snacking habits and am slowly adjusting to this new way of life. Just this past week alone I’ve avoided birthday cake (red velvet and strawberry), donuts, chips & queso, buttery garlic bread rolls and Mexican coke.

My personal triumph at this time is I am down one pant size. I had kept a few pair of favorite dress slacks that were one size too small and had gotten too tight for me. I can now wear them again (some size 14s!) and today I am even wearing the only pair of brown slacks I own. These had gotten so tight they gave me a bad case of camel toe and they were uncomfortable but not today! I’m also wearing some shirts again I had avoided because they had gotten a bit tight across the stomach. It’s nice having some new wardrobe options without having to buy new clothes. Small victories, I know.

Some habits I have changed:

  • I now drink my coffee black or with almond milk. Also drinking cold brew coffee over ice that we made at home.
  • I drink unsweet tea too – with lots of lemon! And sparkling water with fruit essence.
  • I stopped drinking fruit juices (we always had OJ in the fridge). I do miss it.
  • I also stopped drinking my daily glass of milk with Ovaltine (I have had a glass of chocolate milk every morning since I was a child so this was a big deal).
  • We now cook a LOT more at home.
  • I myself actually cook a meal about once a week and help Kenny more in the kitchen. I’ve baked a couple of paleo muffins too!
  • Pinterest is my new BFF again – it’s invaluable in helping me pin recipes and meal plan.
  • I am bringing my lunch to work almost every day when I used to actually eat out every single day. We fill the dishwasher with a lot of to-go containers.
  • We go grocery shopping on a weekly basis when before we only went every few weeks with quick stops at Target for some staples (like milk).
  • Not paleo related but still a new habit – Pilates class twice a week. I haven’t missed since starting!

Thanks to all of you who continue to encourage and support!

One response

  1. Great job!!! I take the victories anywhere I can get them. In my experience, I either lose weight or size; very rarely both at the same time.

Leave a Reply

