Maintaining

Hi img_0048everyone! Sorry it’s been a few weeks since my last check in! I am still doing well. I hit a 20 lb weight loss but I don’t want to count it as official yet since I can’t seem to stay at that weight – I keep stubbornly hovering around 189-191 (188 would be 20 lbs). The pic to the left though was taken a couple of weeks ago as I shopped for new exercise pants. I was happy to be able to purchase Large instead of XL!

Either way, I still feel good and am still eating paleo* as much as possible. I don’t meal plan as much as I should be but I’ve been stocking the pantry and fridge with enough paleo staples that we can whip together a good meal without too much issue. All of our meals at home are paleo and I am still bringing my paleo lunch to work 4 times a week most weeks (I try to go out once a week with a co-worker but then I still pick paleo lunch options). I am also still going to my Pilates class twice a week.

This past week I have gone more off-paleo than normal (maybe even more than when we were in Vegas?) because I really didn’t have any options and I was hungry. I had a lady finger and a biscuit at a garden club meeting (we were tasting teas and it was part of the experience) and at a work luncheon yesterday the chicken meal they offered had a risotto side that I ate about 2/3rds of. I also ate the berries off of the dessert with a little bit of whipped cream and some type of syrup. So yea, those have been my worst non-paleo choices and to be honest, I was still moderate about those.

Oh – and does ONE candy corn count too? :O

Despite that – and I know it sounds like I was being nit-picky about those minor transgressions – I know these choices will not derail me. The “bad” choices were pretty darn small when 97% of everything else I am eating is compliant *.

I also wanted to share some of these “quickly whipped together meals” we have had when we didn’t meal plan:

    • sausage with Brussels sprouts & bacon
    • scallops cooked in butter with cauliflower au gratin side dish (non paleo recipe I made with paleo ingredients)
    • spaghetti squash spaghetti using sugar-free compliant bottled pasta sauce & ground beef

I have a bunch of posts sitting in draft mode because I do have lots of thoughts to share so please be patient with me. Upcoming topics will be about paleo shopping at Costco, paleo recipe substitutions, eating out while paleo, thoughts on Pilates, paleo pantry staples, more info on our version of paleo (see note below) and even another recipe or two. I will work on getting them out of draft mode and actually make them published entries!

* I wanted to take a moment here to define our version of paleo: potatoes are allowed but are limited; cheese is also allowed as a garnish but it too is limited and we choose artisanal cheeses while avoiding the more processed cheeses. We use honey and maple syrup. We use store-bought unsweetened vanilla almond milk (I pick a brand that has the least amount of additives) in moderation. We also do still drink alcohol at social occasions but choose red wines and sugar-free ciders if we do decide to drink.

One response

  1. Good job, Elaine! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

